Benfleet FC was Formed in 1922. (For 1922 Team picture see below)

In 1972 Benfleet FC joined the Essex Olympian Football League which changed its name from season 1987/8 to the Essex Intermediate Football League.  On the 1st August 2005 will be reverting to its’ original historic title, the ESSEX OLYMPIAN Football LEAGUE (http://www.eofl.co.uk/ ).  This is due to changes by the Football Association, as there is now no “Intermediate” status football.  From season2007/8 thanks to the sponsorship of the LFC Insurance Group, the league will be known as The LFC Insurance Group Essex Olympian Football League. 

At the start of season 1996/7 South Benfleet United F.C. amalgamated with Benfleet F.C. to enlarge the youth section of the club.

In 2006 formed a Womens football team which entered the Essex County Womens League in Division 3 for season 2007/8.

Essex Olympian Football League
(known formerly as Essex Intermediate League 1987-2005)              
(Joined League in 1972)

Cups & League Cups

            Senior Cup Winners                           1983/84
            Senior Cup Runners Up                     1977/78
            Senior Challenge Cup   Winners      1974/75 (Shared), 1982/83, 1984/85,1989/90 (Shared)
            Denny King Memorial  Cup Winners 2001/2 & 2002/3
            Essex Premier Cup Winners              2002/3
            Essex Intermediate Cup Winners      1988/89
            Southend Charity Cup Winners         1973/4, 1983/84, 1988/89, 2008
            Southend Charity Cup Runners Up    2003/4

                                   League Honours            Senior Division One Winners            1988/89
            Senior Division One Runners Up 1972/73, 1973/74, 1981/82
           Senior  Division Two Winners         2006/7
Please note from Season 2007- 8 the 1st, 2nd & 3rd Senior Divisions  will be Known as Premier, 1st & 2nd.

                                      Reserves League & Cup Honours            Reserve Division Cup Runners Up            1973/4, 1982/83,                                                                                                    1994/5, 1998/99
            Reserve Challenge Cup Winners            1988/89
            Reserve Division One Winners              1972/73, 1975/76,                                                                                                 1987/88       
            Reserve Division One Runners Up            1973/74
            Reserve Division Two Winners              1989/90
            Reserve Division Two Runners Up            1998/99  
            Reserve Division Three Runners Up      2007/8

Picture of 1922 team